Counter-intuitive Parenting (a re-post)

I don’t know why it still amazes me sometimes how God “sneaks up” on me! Out of “nowhere”, BAM!, there He is. I love that!

I was reading this post by Angela from Good Morning Girls and there He was in the comment roll following her very good article!

Kim Hall, I don’t know who you are, but, you said just what I needed to hear in exactly the way I needed to hear it. The right words are all there in the just-right arrangement so my brain can hang onto them. Thank you.

“When you feel like yelling, speak in a whisper. When you feel like withholding affection be abundantly generous with your love.”

When one of our sweet girls first came home to us at age 7, it quickly became clear that school had always been a huge challenge for her. Even now every setback she faces throws her into a talespin of irrational thinking and extreme emotions. I noticed that when she was struggling if I stood behind her and gently patted her back, rubbed her shoulders or stroked her hair she would calm down, her mood softened, her spirit lightened. It actually would completely alter her outlook. I learned that an extra measure of love and gentleness was just what we both needed to calm the situation and knit us together. On the contrary, when I did not or do not do this, the struggle like a forest fire would rapidly get hotter and hotter.

I had forgotten this. But God reminded me. Today through a simple comment left for another blogger He poignantly spoke to me. I’m so glad God is always present, always working on my behalf, in spite of my cluelessness! He. Is. So. Very. Good.

20120225-103939.jpg

“Affirming words from moms and dads are like light switches. Speak a word of affirmation at the right moment in a child’s life and it’s like lighting up a whole roomful of possibilities.”
~ Gary Smalley

“If you want your children to improve, let them overhear the nice things you say about them to others.” ~ Haim Ginott

“A happy family is but an earlier heaven.”
~John Bowring

And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted…
~Ephesians 4:32

Thou hast also given me the shield of thy salvation:
and thy gentleness hath made me great.
~2 Samuel 22:36

P.S.~ There are numerous verses in Scripture about gentleness, tenderness, kindness and love. Enjoy a time of looking them up.

One thought on “Counter-intuitive Parenting (a re-post)

  1. Loved your reminders on parenting. Sometimes I feel as though my love wanes in all the instruction I am bound to administer. How dangerous to lose sight of loving them in the midst of parenting them! God’s grace to me must flow to the little ones He has bestowed on me.

Leave a Reply

