Be Glad

What! Gladly glory in my infirmities, boast in my weaknesses? Why? That the power of Christ may rest upon me! I love God’s mysterious ways!!! Look at what Paul wrote here…

“And He said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for My strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.” ~2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Now, how can I break this passage down and apply it to my every day duties (necessities) and my daily (or perhaps, moment to moment) trials?

Gladly boast when my children completely wreck their bedroom and I’m tempted to loose my cool, again?!
…That the power of Christ may rest upon me!

Gladly boast when my children’s nasty pride spews out at each other as they fight over the most *insignificant earthly things?! (*By the way…that’s just how sin rolls, isn’t it?)
…That the power of Christ may rest upon me!

Gladly boast when my own nasty pride spews out onto my children when the earthly “things” aren’t going my way?! (Hmm, wonder where they get it? Woe is me!)
…That the power of Christ may rest upon me!

Gladly boast when I become the discouraged encourager?!
…That the power of Christ may rest upon me!

Gladly boast when others criticize our choices, or the path we walk, when we are trying to faithfully follow Jesus?!
…That the power of Christ may rest upon me!

Ha! That one reminds me, wasn’t it Dr. Seuss that said, “those who matter don’t mind and those that mind don’t matter”? …Again,
…That the power of Christ may rest upon me!

As long as the power of Christ rests upon me!!! That’s what matters!

In all my weaknesses. In all my inability. In all my mistakes. In all my difficulties. In all my distressing circumstances. In any persecuting situations. In all my, “I can’t do this”.

I will boast when I can’t, because Jesus CAN! Christ’s power will rest upon me, dwell within me, when I am weak. Because of Jesus Christ, when I am weak, then I am strong! I only have to grab ahold of His Word and let Him reign.

Now…onward to practical, victorious life application!

Walking with Jesus,
Melissa

20130403-094414.jpg

2 thoughts on “Be Glad

  1. I love this. Great post hon. Needed thst boost/Reminder to put everything back in its appropriate perspective. Thank you for helping me do that……. We can learn from our children….even when we are growing “old”. Love you so much.

Leave a Reply

