I Can’t Get Over How Fast Children Grow

“The days are long, but the years are short.”

Have you heard that phrase before? It’s so true, isn’t it? It seems to be especially true for Mommies. I don’t know about you all, but I sure do get all tangled up in our days so much sometimes that I can completely lose sight of how fast my children are growing up. (yeah, today might have been one of those days)

I don’t like that. But still, I can’t seem to just overcome it. I tend to get worked up over the lesser things, make a mountain out of a mole hill, make a big deal out of stuff that doesn’t even matter, you know, in light of Eternity and all. I guess it’s normal for Moms to do that, right?

The thing is, I have known deep sorrow, grief, and loss. I’ve buried a child! You would think I would be a Mother who never, ever takes a single moment for granted…ever. You would think that I would remember to appreciate everything. But, alas, I still forget. Do you Moms forget, too? Do you also get wrapped up in the daily tasks and troubles and forget to look Up?

How do I just. stop. And breathe… Re-align my perspective… Stop sweating the small stuff… Deliberately soak it all in as the happy moments, and even the not-so-happy moments roll? How do you all do that?

I read a biography on Susannah Wesley. I read that whenever her day became rough she would stop and throw her apron up over her head and pray. Hiding her face in her apron was her on-the-spot prayer closet. Run to Jesus first of all is answer #1. That takes constant discipline. Doesn’t every good habit? Practice, practice, practice until it remains the most natural thing to do?

Ann Voskamp’s writes this blog, A Holy Experience,and she is the author of “One Thousand Gifts: The Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are”. She keeps a notebook with a list of blessings that she takes notice of all day long. From the tiniest, least noticed gifts to the biggest, most obvious ones, she stops and jots them right down. I have started my own list a couple of times. Why did I stop? I think I should try again.

So, each time the thunder rolls around here (and with a family of ten, that is a lot of thunder!) I pray I remember to stop and look at Jesus immediately. He will convict me and correct me when I am the problem. He will calm me when I’m tempted to get worked up. He will speak through me so I can help my children. Whatever I need, He has always been here for me when I call. Always. Through any trial or trouble. It’s so good to remember that!

I love the Lord, because He hath heard
my voice and my supplications.
Because He hath inclined His ear unto me,
therefore will I call upon Him as long as I live.
~Psalm 116:1-2

Look at how my sweet babies have grown…

Lauren & Carly, at age 9 & 10…

20121029-213101.jpg
In this pic: Brenna (6), Olivia (5), Brooke (4) & Kimmy (3)
20121029-213141.jpg
here Haley & Cara are ages 6 & 7 and upside down! Haha!
20121029-213214.jpg
Oh my goodness, here our little cuties, Kimmy and Brooke are practically babies. I think they are only 2 & 3 years old in this picture. Sweet little monkeys.
20121029-213300.jpg
Here I am with all my sweet blessings at my brother’s wedding in 2009.
20121029-213317.jpg

Walking with Jesus,

5 thoughts on “I Can’t Get Over How Fast Children Grow

  1. What a beautiful post, Melissa. So sorry to read that you experienced the loss of a child. I need to throw an apron over my head more often and count, count, count the blessings every minute. The picture of you and all your girls is priceless. đŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Stacy. Jonah was a precious blessing, we all adored. He lived one year and four days. It was amazing to be his Mother!
      That picture of my girls is one of my favorites! I can’t believe how blessed Jeff and I are!

  2. It boils down to thankful thinking is right thinking from a grateful heart. Hurricane/Post-Tropical Storm Sandy is currently devastating America’s East Coast. It is responsible for 10 deaths so far. My prayers are with everyone who is suffering through this storm. May you be blessed with safety, warm, and nourishment, and may you be surrounded by loved ones. God bless you in many big and small ways!

Leave a Reply

