Marriage Moments ~ #10 ~ My Top 10 Daily Marriage Aspirations

Gratitude … goes beyond the “mine” and “thine” and claims the truth that all of life is a pure gift. In the past I always thought of gratitude as a spontaneous response to the awareness of gifts received, but now I realize that gratitude can also be lived as a discipline. The discipline of gratitude is the explicit effort to acknowledge that all I am and have is given to me as a gift of love, a gift to be celebrated with joy.
~ Henri J. M. Nouwen

10) There is always something to be thankful for. I want him to know I am grateful for him, for our marriage and for all of our blessings.

Adored,
I just want to tell you again that you are my hero. You are a constant reminder for me of how very much God loves me and how perfectly He takes care of me, in spite of my faults, flaws and sins. You, right next to me, are a reminder of His extravagant grace upon me. I pray earnestly for God to take away your every burden. I ask Him continuously to bless you exceeding, abundantly above all you can ask or think. I love you, Honey, and I pray that I never, ever take you for granted. I love being your wife! You are easy to love~ loving you is my favorite! 🙂 …Yours, forever & always & no matter what

20120604-070724.jpg

Wives, it is essential for our own good, for our well being and for our happiness to be grateful. Gratitude is crucial to the life and vitality of marriage. Likewise, ingratitude is a sure way to kill your marriage.

When I allow my mind to indulge in any speck of self pity it immediately begins to spoil my heart. Just like when food spoils, when I am ungrateful, I become repulsive, ugly and sour.

An unthankful wife does not notice the nice things about her husband. She can’t see any good in him. Ungratefulness has conditioned her to always first see all his faults, and then keep a fresh running mental list of them. Any blessings she manages to muster up are shoved down to the very bottom of the list and at best are merely an afterthought. She even believes that her afterthoughts, those few “at-least-he-does” and the “at-least-he-doesn’ts” on her list, actually pass as true gratitude, “in spite of his many, deep flaws”. She is deceived. That is not gratitude. It is self-righteous. It is ungodly and she sows the seeds that will destroy her marriage.

Matthew 7:3-5
And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye?
Or how wilt thou say to thy brother, Let me pull out the mote out of thine eye; and, behold, a beam is in thine own eye?
Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.

As my husband’s helpmeet, I am his encourager, edifier, cheerleader, lover, helper and closest, dearest friend. Whining, griping, nagging, scoffing and even the most subtle hints of an unthankful outlook will tear him down. It will never, ever build him up. It will not motivate him. It will in no way help him or bless him. (Rom 14:19; I Thess 5:11; Eph 4:29)

Proverbs 25:11
A word fitly spoken
is like apples of gold in pictures of silver.

Proverbs 17:22
A merry heart doeth good like a medicine:
but a broken spirit drieth the bones.

He needs my joyful, happy countenance! He needs my heart and my walk to show my gratitude! See a wife who is truly thankful and you will see a wife who is filled with joy!

Just as the joy of the Lord is our strength, the joy of a wife can be her husband’s strength! Because…I am created in the image of God, made to mirrror Christ.

Nehemiah 8:10…for the joy of the LORD is your strength.

The unthankful heart… discovers no mercies; but let the thankful heart sweep through the day and, as the magnet finds the iron, so it will find, in every hour, some heavenly blessings!
~ Henry Ward Beecher

Grace isn’t a little prayer you chant before receiving a meal. It’s a way to live.
~ Jackie Windspear

Habakkuk 3:17-19
Although the fig tree shall not blossom,
neither shall fruit be in the vines;
the labour of the olive shall fail,
and the fields shall yield no meat;
the flock shall be cut off from the fold,
and there shall be no herd in the stalls:
Yet I will rejoice in the Lord,
I will joy in the God of my salvation.
The Lord God is my strength,
and He will make my feet like hinds ‘feet,
and He will make me to walk upon mine high places.

“Gratitude. . .can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend.”
~ Melody Beattie

Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all the others.
~ Cicero

Walking with Jesus,

See more of My Top 10 Daily Marriage Aspirations:
1) Make my husband smile every day. Whatever it takes. Be his dream-come-true!
2) Smile & be happy. Always be kind and polite to him AND about him to others. (Be easy to love!)
3) Hug, kiss, and touch him every chance I get. Enjoy sharing my “personal space”.
4) Lighten up. Do not be easily offended. Give him a break.
5) Be quiet. Rarely will there ever be any issue that is worth ruining our day over.
6) Pray about an issue before bringing it to him. Bring it up only if and when I’m sure God says so.

7) Faithfully pray for him throughout each day and let him know it.
8) Serve him sweetly. It’s not about my happiness, it’s about my holiness.
9) Keep our love nest (bedroom) sanctified, special.
10)There is always something to be thankful for. I want him to know I am grateful for him, for our marriage and for all of our blessings.

5 thoughts on “Marriage Moments ~ #10 ~ My Top 10 Daily Marriage Aspirations

  1. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #2 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations | Bones in My Heart

  2. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #1 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations | Bones in My Heart

  3. Amen and AMEN! I love to watch the “countenance” of my husband as I praise him and speak words of encouragement and thankfulness. I can see him stand taller, his shoulders become broader, strength is increased all over him, when I praise him and tell him how thankful I am for him and how proud I am to be his wife and how much I love our life together………..

Leave a Reply

