All Tangled Up

20120523-080657.jpg

2 Timothy 2:3-4

Thou therefore endure hardness, as a good soldier of Jesus Christ.

No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life;

that he may please Him Who hath chosen him to be a soldier.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

I am prone to be swept away by the messes, upsets and battles of daily life.

I find every day burdens weighing me down

causing me to overreact.

Even though I know they are only temporal

I still tend to allow trials to overwhelm me.

The temporal battle, the heat of the moment

casts a dark shadow on my eternal viewpoint

and my bold, godly focus vanishes away.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

Moms, can you relate?

Particularly, I ask you because being a mom has tested my soul

like nothing else ever has!

Is it just me, or do you tend to get carried away as well

when the kids are fussing and fighting with each other,

or when they begin to argue with you

or when they turn the house upside down for what feels like the hundredth time today

or when you feel invisible?

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

These two verses tremendously help me to regain my focus.

Life is a battle.

The devil is the prince and the power of the air

and this is war.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

I have eight children.

I am their Mother, *schoolmaster, Bible teacher, overseer, mentor and guide.

I believe they are exceptional children,

yet still they are quite normal…

They fuss and feud with each other over the silliest of matters.

They backtalk, “forget” to do their chores, and neglect their schoolwork.

They put their clothes back into their drawers dirty

and toss their clean clothes down the laundry chute, neatly folded!

(What? What? What!)

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

I am a normal mom.

I lose my cool.

I am not always patient.

I usually manage to remain calm and sound minded

in the things that matter

but then go crazy over the stuff that doesn’t so much.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

I’m often asking myself “why?“.

Why is it that I allow those little matters to get me so worked up?

How I can be so gentle and patient one moment and an ugly tyrant the next?

I think the answer is my selfish pride.

My husband reminds us often that all sin starts there.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

I want life to be smooth.

I want the day to be all sunshine and no shadows.

20120523-074321.jpg

I don’t want dirt, hair ties, paper scraps, and dog chewed crayons scattered about

or an opened shampoo bottle and towels spilling onto the bathroom floor,

or a clogged again sink, another toy broken,

a monstrosity of shoes covering the porch

with an enormously vacant shoe bin sitting nearby.

I don’t want the kids to argue over clothes, shoes, pencils,

a broken paper clip (yea, it happened),

or whose turn it is, for pete’s sake!

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

I don’t want them to dilly-dally in school.

I don’t want them to lose their Bible, their textbook or assignments.

I don’t want to find their three ring binder turned inside out,

their multiplication table disappeared, and the dry erase markers dried up.

I don’t want to hear their pencil is out of led again today, the stapler is broken

or…that they have never heard or seen anything about carrying and

borrowing ever a day in their life!

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

Yes, I know it is normal. That’s the way kids are. These are training opportunities.

I know all that.

But my flesh doesn’t get it.

I’d rather each day be peaceful and happy with never any strife, heaven on earth.

I want life to stay neat, clean, pretty…and organized.

But it doesn’t and it won’t.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

This is how I learn.

This is how I lean.

This is how I pass it on.

20120523-081218.jpg

2 Timothy 2:3-4

Thou therefore endure hardness, as a good soldier of Jesus Christ.

No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life;

that he may please Him Who hath chosen him to be a soldier.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

This is what that means to me.

It means…

No mother in the battle

lets herself get tangled up

with the difficulties and hardships of this life

but instead

focuses on how she may please God

Who has chosen her for this fight.

Walking with Jesus,

I just wanted you to know…

*I know that schoolmaster is a male teacher and schoolmistress is a female teacher. I just preferred the sound of schoolmaster over schoolmistress, even though I am wholeheartedly fervent about womanhood and passionately feminine!

2 thoughts on “All Tangled Up

  1. Pingback: Mystery Solved…Consequences Dealt « Instant Mama

Leave a Reply

