Marriage Moments ~ #5 & #6 ~ My Top 10 Daily Aspirations

Thank you for joining us! I hope you are benefiting from My Top 10 Daily Marriage Aspirations!
Wives, if you were to make a list of marriage aspirations or goals it might look similar to mine or it may look different. This is my personal list of some of the practical ideals or standards I try to live by; a list of blessings in my relationship with my dear husband. Today we are taking on two at a time because they are so closely related.

#5) Be quiet. Rarely will there ever be any issue that is worth ruining our day over.

#6) Pray about an issue before bringing it to him. Bring it up only if and when I’m sure God says so.

Goodness, both of these can be so tough to live by. I am quite verbal! However sensitive or passionate the issue is, I need even more self control and discernment. I’m getting better with practice, but it still can be hard, particularly if I’m feeling like Miss Mary, Mary Quite Contrary. Do you know her? Yeah. Me, too. All too well.

A man *(wife) hath joy by the answer of his *(her) mouth:
and a word spoken in due season, how good is it!
The heart of the righteous studieth to answer:
but the mouth of the wicked poureth out evil things.
~Proverbs 15:23, 28
*Parenthesis mine.

I will always be a work-in-progress, but learning to keep my mouth shut I know has saved me a world of trouble. If I am not careful I can make comments or mouth off about miniscule things. If we will all be honest, most of what ruffles our feathers just doesn’t matter much. So what if he can’t stand backtracking even if it will save us more time and effort in the long run. So what if he is ready to go or not before I am when we’re out somewhere. So what if there is almost always a lengthy moment of silence after I ask him a question, testing my verbal patience when I’d very much prefer to hear a response…”ummm, now is good.” I’m so impatient. And, so what if he wants us to do some “impractical” activity with the kids requiring more prep work, and flexibility than I might be in the mood for, all in the name of “making memories”. ***Rabbit-trail: Sorry, I know a specific example would be helpful here but my brain isn’t producing one at the moment. I can only recall the anxiety that can accompany it. Ok, so I occasionally have a hard time pursuing some things with a-zillion kiddos in tow. I can be a wimp if in the wrong mood. Ugly admission. Blasted blog. I really do know his ideas are blessings and am very thankful for him! And truly I’m mostly not a party-pooper! I really am a big fan of having fun! End of rabbit trail.***

I hope no one is offended when I say…Frankly, when couples, grown-ups, snarl, sneer, bicker, pout, stew and stomp it is childish. Come on, whatever it is, if it bugs me, or isn’t my idea of a good time or is contrary to my own personality…so what! It is never going to actually be worth spoiling our day or ruining “us” over! Little things, or even big things. I can either choose to puff myself up, argue, complain, push my own mind, rise up against him or I can keep life simple and sweet…humble myself and enjoy the harmony that it brings. I have tested this many times over and the harmony is more than worth whatever I have given up in the process. Ahem!….Now you know sometime today my pride is sure to be profoundly tested, since I’m testifying on the blessings of humility! …I can’t wait. 🙂

Look at this, it helps me. Whoso keepeth his mouth and his tongue keepeth his soul from troubles. ~Proverbs 21:23 Ha! Maybe we could say, “Spare the mouth, spoil (as in pamper) the husband!” What a pleasure for a man to have a wife who gives him peace and rest and is a joy to him, rather than a wife who is whiny, nagging, mouthy, argumentative and difficult to be around!

The thing is, when my emotions are rising and my pride is swelling it becomes a danger zone for my heart and thoughts, and then my choices. The Bible says we cannot trust our heart. Proverbs 3:5-6 is clear that we should not lean on our own understanding, but instead we should trust in the Lord, acknowledge Him (look to Him, walk with Him), and He will give us direction.

He that trusteth in his own heart is a fool:
but whoso walketh wisely, he shall be delivered.
~Proverbs 28:26

Let my heart be sound in Thy statutes;
that I be not ashamed.
~Ps 119:80

20120327-055030.jpg

I have found God to always be faithful. With every need and concern, before taking it even to my husband, I can go to the Lord first of all! When Thou saidst, Seek ye My face; my heart said unto Thee, Thy face, Lord, will I seek. ~ Psalm 27:8 It has always proved to be the wise thing to do.

From the simple everyday matters or questions to the deepest, most fragile issues, He has always taken care of the matter and given me the right heart, direction, guidance, timing, the words to speak or not to speak. He knows it all. He already has the answers. And He is able to reach my husband in a way I never will be able to. I must never forget, He is God! (Ps 46:10) It is so amazing, and rather exciting when you seek the Lord and then sit still and watch Him handle it all for you!

The Lord will perfect that which concerneth me…Psalm 138:8a

Don’t be afraid to wait on Him. Don’t be in a hurry. Don’t miss out on God’s best for you!

Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and He shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord. ~Psalm 27:14

God bless your marriage moments!

Walking with Jesus,

More Proverbs to add to your study!
*21:9, 19
*27:15
*14:1
*31:26

*17:27-28
*18:2
*21:2
*21:30

If you missed previous Top 10’s you can find them here…
My Top 10 Daily Marriage Aspirations:
1) Make my husband smile every day. Whatever it takes. Be his dream-come-true!
2) Smile & be happy. Always be kind and polite to him AND about him to others. (Be easy to love!)
3) Hug, kiss, and touch him every chance I get. Enjoy sharing my “personal space”.
4) Lighten up. Do not be easily offended. Give him a break.
5) Be quiet. Rarely will there ever be any issue that is worth ruining our day over.
6) Pray about an issue before bringing it to him. Bring it up only if and when I’m sure God says so.

7) Faithfully pray for him throughout each day and let him know it.
8) Serve him sweetly. It’s not about my happiness, it’s about my holiness.
9) Keep our love nest (bedroom) sanctified, special.
10)There is always something to be thankful for. I want him to know I am grateful for him, for our marriage and for all of our blessings.

7 thoughts on “Marriage Moments ~ #5 & #6 ~ My Top 10 Daily Aspirations

  1. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #1 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations | Bones in My Heart

  2. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #10 ~ My Top 10 Daily Marriage Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  3. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #9 ~ My Top 10 Daily Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  4. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #8 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Daily Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  5. Pingback: For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh « bummyla

Leave a Reply

