This is Thy Hand

~Psalm 109:27~
That they may know that this is Thy hand;
that Thou, Lord, hast done it.

20120316-065439.jpg

I am so honored to be their Mother!

All eight of our children sing and/or play instruments in the Central Indiana Homeschool Choir and Band. Our four youngest daughters sing in the Beginner Choir. Our next three sing in the Elementary/Intermediate Choir. Lauren, our oldest daughter, sings in the High School Choir. And Carly plays flute in the Intermediate Band. This fall at least two of the girls plan to join the band. (Since I also play the flute, wouldn’t it be awesome to one day have our own flute choir?! Ahem…No pressure, girls! lol!)

The Choirs and Bands rehearse weekly, perform an annual Christmas concert, an annual Spring Concert, have various singing opportunities at area venues in Central Indiana, compete in the Annual Shawnee Fine Arts Competition, followed by a Competition Recital for family and friends. We are so thankful for the remarkable training and diligent direction they receive under Mrs. Lauri Wood, Mr. Dana Heidenreich and his daughter, Miss Adrienne Heidenreich. It is a great blessing to have this opportunity for our children.

Well, yesterday was a big, long day for CIHS! Our four oldest daughters, along with our friend Melody, her daughter and I packed up the “big van” dark and early and headed to Louisville for the annual Shawnee Fine Arts Competition. Everyone diligently prepared with the Lord’s help for months and gave their all! Remarkably, each of the groups the girls participated in all placed first. We are so proud of the CIHS children and how they each really gave the best they had!

It is good to use talents and skills for the Lord Who gave them.
It is good to train and mature in them.
It is good to remember that without Him there would be no talent or skill.
It is good to give time and effort to develop talents and skills in order to minister to one another
at home,
at church,
in the community,
and on the mission field…
throughout youth and into adulthood.
It is good to strive for excellence to the best of our ability.
It is good to always give God our very best.
It is good to humbly proclaim, “to God be the glory; great things He hath done!”

Psalm 146:1-2
Praise ye the Lord.
Praise the Lord, O my soul.
While I live will I praise the Lord:
I will sing praises unto my God while I have any being.

Colossians 3:23
And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men.

Psalm 54:6
I will freely sacrifice unto Thee:
I will praise Thy name, O Lord; for it is good.

Psalm 69:30
I will praise the name of God with a song,
and will magnify Him with thanksgiving.

Psalm 73:26
My flesh and my heart faileth:
but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.

Psalm 104:33
I will sing unto the Lord as long as I live:
I will sing praise to my God while I have my being.

Psalm 150
Praise ye the Lord.
Praise God in His sanctuary:
praise Him in the firmament of His power.
Praise Him for His mighty acts:
praise Him according to His excellent greatness.
Praise Him with the sound of the trumpet:
praise Him with the psaltery and harp.
Praise Him with the timbrel and dance:
praise Him with stringed instruments and organs.
Praise Him upon the loud cymbals:
praise Him upon the high sounding cymbals.
Let every thing that hath breath praise the Lord.
Praise ye the Lord.

Walking with Jesus,
Melissa

P.S. Crazy busy week it has been! Getting back to good health, homeschooling, preparing for competition, traveling…tired Momma’… If you think if it, will you lift up a quick prayer? We are getting our family portrait taken today for our church pictorial directory…Haaaaaahhh!…ten happy people facing the camera all at the same time would be an answer to prayer! πŸ™‚

Thank you!

3 thoughts on “This is Thy Hand

  1. Pingback: Psalm 146:1-10 | ricklee's poetry plus

Leave a Reply

