Marriage Moments ~ #2 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations

20120228-080805.jpg

Today, we continue our Marriage Moments series on Marriage Aspirations. Thank you for joining us.

As my first aspiration states, I want to make my husband smile every day, which segues naturally into the second aspiration, #2 ~ Smile; be happy. Always be kind and polite to him AND about him to others. (Be easy to love!) The simplest, most natural way to make someone smile is to smile at them first. I try to remember to greet and approach my guy with a smile. No, that doesn’t mean I walk around all the time with a cheesy, plastic smile on my face, like some Mrs. Happy-Go-Lucky. It’s simple really. It just means I want to be pleasant, easy to love, a joy for him to be around, and, even fun! I certainly do not want my husband to love me out of duty. I don’t want to come home to me because it’s what he’s supposed to do. I want it to be easy for him to love me!

Old-fashioned kindness and manners need to accompany my genuine smile. When is the last time you were polite to your husband? I think sometimes we become so accustomed to being in the same house, and doing life side by side that it is all too easy to take each other for granted. I want to always remember at home to say “please”, “thank you”, or “you’re quite welcome”! And how about, “My pleasure”, “Let me get that for you”, or “I’ll do that”!

Do a “secret service” for him. Especially when he is particularly tired, burdened or swamped at work why not humbly jump in and quietly do some chore that he normally takes care of? Occasionally, (though, I should ask him daily), I ask Mr. Wonderful, “Is there anything special I can help you with today?”. He might need me to find something that he’s missing (wives just seem to be great at finding the snake that could’ve bitten everyone else, lol!). Maybe running an errand or making a phone call or googling something would take more pressure off of him than I might imagine. Whatever it is, offering to help him out for a few minutes could change his whole day and take some heavy burden off of his mind, which is more than worth the small sacrifice I had to make.

Another biggie, is to only keep mental records of my husband’s strengths, never his weaknesses or his faults. Never tell anyone negative things about him. If I’m going to talk about him I want to only brag on him. If I absolutely have to talk about some problem or issue, then I should always first talk to the Lord. He is the One Who can take care of it all, anyway!

So, smile and be happy! Be kind. Be polite. Say nice things. Make sure my husband’s name is always safe in my mouth!

Walking with Jesus,

My Top 10 Daily Marriage Aspirations:

1) Make my husband smile every day. Whatever it takes. Be his dream-come-true!
2) Smile; be happy. Always be kind and polite to him AND about him to others. (Be easy to love!)
3) Hug, kiss, and touch him every chance I get. Enjoy sharing my “personal space”.
4) Lighten up. Do not be easily offended. Give him a break.
5) Be quiet. Rarely will there ever be any issue that is worth ruining our day over.
6) Pray about an issue before bringing it to him. Bring it up only if/when I’m sure God says so.
7) Faithfully pray for him throughout each day and let him know it.
8) Serve him sweetly. It’s not about my happiness, it’s about my holiness.
9) Keep our love nest (bedroom) sanctified, special.
10)There is always something to be thankful for. I want him to know I am grateful for him, for our marriage and for all of our blessings.

11 thoughts on “Marriage Moments ~ #2 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations

  1. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #10 ~ My Top 10 Daily Marriage Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  2. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #9 ~ My Top 10 Daily Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  3. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #8 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Daily Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  4. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ # 7 ~ My Top 10 Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  5. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #5 & #6 ~ My Top 10 Daily Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  6. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #1 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  7. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #3 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  8. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #4 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  9. Pingback: RANT: The Easily Offended Should Avoid « West End Singleton

  10. Melissa,
    Thanks so much for the encouraging words……When I saw this #10 List a few weeks ago, I printed it out and put it on the wallup against my office desk, right in front of my eyes, next to my husbands picture. I read the list several times a day as I look at his handsome face……trying to absorb them into my heart and brain. Love you, miss you, Christine

Leave a Reply

