Thinking of Jonah

Oh! How I need this inspiring poem of admonition as we start our day. You can find it right here. I’m going to bet that you could also use a dose of it as well, as you are mothering, giving care to a loved one, nurturing a relationship, ministering to someone today.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

Also, this please. I treasure your prayers. Six years ago this month, we buried our sweet little baby Jonah. He was born February 8, 2005. He passed away February 12, 2006. He was one year and four days old. My sweet Lauren encouraged me to say something here in honor of him during this tender month. (Please see the portion for Lauren at the end of this post.)

February for us and for our loved ones…family, friends, church family makes us think of the perfect gift that is each and every life, of unconditional love, of God’s sovereignty. It’s a long, sweet story that I know I will write more about one day…maybe soon.

20120210-093908.jpg

By now, you’d think I’d be ready for that, that I’d have the courage to go there. (It has been 6 years. really? It doesn’t feel like it.) Yet every time I try to type his story (sort of like right now) I just. can’t. seem to get very far. To open up and share his precious year needs time, slow time. Time to be alone with my words, without interruptions and in these days, even in the wee, quiet, early morning hours that I do have alone, it’s just not time enough. Not yet.

For now, thank you, my dear friends, for your prayers, your kindness, for coming along with me here at Bones in My Heart. I know the Lord is the One Who brought me here to be with you all. Who else, how else but God!

Just growing in grace…
Walking with Jesus,

I love the Lord, because He hath heard

my voice and my supplications.

Because He hath inclined his ear unto me,

therefore will I call upon Him as long as I live.

The sorrows of death compassed me,

and the pains of hell gat hold upon me:

I found trouble and sorrow.

Then called I upon the name of the Lord;

O Lord, I beseech thee, deliver my soul.

Gracious is the Lord, and righteous;

yea, our God is merciful.

The Lord preserveth the simple:

I was brought low, and He helped me.

Return unto thy rest, O my soul;

for the Lord hath dealt bountifully with thee.

For Thou hast delivered my soul from death,

mine eyes from tears,

and my feet from falling.

I will walk before the Lord

in the land of the living.

I believed, therefore have I spoken:

I was greatly afflicted:

I said in my haste,

All men are liars.

What shall I render unto the Lord

for all His benefits toward me?

I will take the cup of salvation,

and call upon the name of the Lord.

I will pay my vows unto the Lord

now in the presence of all His people.

Precious in the sight of the Lord

is the death of His saints.

O Lord, truly I am Thy servant;

I am Thy servant, and the son of Thine handmaid:

Thou hast loosed my bonds.

I will offer to Thee the sacrifice of thanksgiving,

and will call upon the name of the Lord.

I will pay my vows unto the Lord

now in the presence of all His people,

In the courts of the Lord ‘s house,

in the midst of thee, O Jerusalem. Praise ye the Lord.

~ Psalm 116

20120210-101538.jpg
P.S. ~ And One More Thing ~
Thank you, Lauren Grace. You are and always have been a remarkable big sister. You have loved little siblings, helped with their care, accompanied momma to endless fostering responsibilities, doctor and therapy appointments, endured so many trials and tribulations, grief and loss, and loved every little one forever and always and no matter what. Your name is written down in Heaven. You have many stars in your crown. Sweet Lauren, you have blessed me with your “Mommy’s Helper” heart. You and I have been (while Daddy is at work) daily buddies in this mission and journey the Lord has and is leading us through! Daddy and I are so honored to be your parents! We love you forever and always and no matter what!

4 thoughts on “Thinking of Jonah

Leave a Reply

