Marriage Moments ~ Good Reads

In today’s Marriage Moments I would like to share a few resources with you that have been a special blessing to me over the years. There are many good books and other media (and bad ones, be careful to filter through The Bible), but these stand out and have blessed me.

20120123-084534.jpg

*There are many wonderful Scriptures to instruct and encourage wives, but one has particularly impacted my attitude. It reminds me to live for my husband and put off selfishness.
1 Corinthians 11:8-9
For the man is not of the woman; but the woman of the man.
Neither was the man created for the woman; but the woman for the man.

more Scripture!
Genesis 2:24
Proverbs 31:10-31
I Corinthians 7
Ephesians 5
I Peter 3
Titus 2:3-5

*Proverbs is a great place to do a word study. Search for “wife” and “woman”. You will find many! Then look up those verses, maybe even keep a journal of the ones you find or mark them in your Bible.

Books:
*A Woman After God’s Own Heart by Eizabeth George. I have since discovered that all the material and lessons she has authored have been excellent. In the book I recommend above, I saw that I needed to be careful that my husband, and my family are loved and cared for first and I should only venture out to minister to others with my husband’s blessing and after my own home and family are well cared for.

*Created to Be His Helpmeet by Debi Pearl
This is an encouraging book I have read several times. It is filled with Scripture. Debi Pearl carefully covers many sensitive issues and I found she has done so very well.

Some online resources that are a blessing:

Revive Our Hearts

True Woman ministries

Above Rubies (a free magazine and more!)

InCourage

Women Living Well

May God bless your marriage!

Walking with Jesus,

Leave a Reply

