Sing!

20120120-063948.jpg

It is God’s will for us to sing! “Sing” appears 119 times in 102 verses in the KJV. God really wants you and I, His people, to sing!

When The Lord blessed us with 3 more little girls all at once (they were nearly 3, 4 yrs and 5!), making us the parents of five daughters under 8 yrs old, daily life was moment after moment of drama. chaos. blood. sweat. tears. training. chasing. teaching. catching. loving-even-when…and pleading with my Lord for strength, wisdom, help, a compassionate heart and cries of tell-me-what-to-do, how-to-love my angry, hurting little ones. I was spinning! Our days were wild…to put it tamely!

For 8 long months every mundane task, every major and minor event came with a near 100% guarantee to explode into some sort of disaster…raging, screaming, cursing, scratching, hitting, biting, throwing things, property destruction, mayhem. (I. Am. So. Not. Exaggerating.) Our new little daughters hurt so badly! I had to depend completely upon The Holy Spirit to guide my every move, my every breath!

In those days, by the time we made it to lunch, I was overcome with physical and spiritual exhaustion. I noticed after a long morning of struggles loving, caring for, and training my new daughters, (while trying to protect my other two little girls!), by lunch I was mangled. My heart was torn between my sincere willingness to love-no-matter-what and indulging my spirit with a bitter grudge against them for all they had put us through that morning. I would spend the lunch time spiritually sour.

The Lord made me aware of this and I knew apart from Him I could never put off my sin and be renewed with a new, pure and clean attitude and behaviour. He was my help. He had my answer!

I will always be amazed by God’s simple solutions!

GOD told me to SING! Yes. Sing!

So, from then on, after I corralled the children to the table
(Ha! That’s one command I can’t recall them ever being disobedient
to during that periood: “Sit down at the table. It’s time to eat.”),
anyway, at the table before we prayed for our food we would sing a chorus.

This is the day.
This is the day
that the Lord hath made,
that the Lord hath made.
We will rejoice.
We will rejoice
and be glad in it
and be glad in it.
This is the day
that the Lord hath made.
We will rejoice
and be glad in it.
This is the day.
This is the day
that the Lord hath made!

Or

Thank You, Lord, for saving my soul.
Thank You, Lord, for making me whole.
Thank You, Lord, for giving to me
Thy great salvation
So rich and free!

Or

God You’re so good
God You’re so good
God You’re so good
You’re so good to me!

(I especially like singing that one to Him, God, You’re so Good, rather than about Him, God is so Good. Though either way is wonderful!)

Walking with Jesus
Walking everyday
All along the way
For I am
Walking with Jesus
Walking with Jesus alone.

Waking in the sunlight
Walking in the shadow
Walking everyday
All along the way
For I am
Walking in the sunlight
Walking in the shadow
Walking with Jesus alone.

As I sang with my girls, Jesus softened my heart with each note and every lyric. He alone transformed by mind, and renewed my spirit.

And Miriam answered them,
Sing ye
to the Lord,
for He hath triumphed
gloriously;
the horse
and his rider
hath He thrown
into the sea.
~Exodus 15:21

Hear,
O ye kings;
give ear,
O ye princes;
I, even I, will sing
unto the Lord;
I will sing praise
to the Lord God
of Israel.
~Judges 5:3

Sing
unto Him,
sing psalms
unto Him,
talk ye
of all
His wondrous works!
~1 Chronicles 16:9

I will be glad
and rejoice in Thee:
I will sing praise
to Thy name,
O Thou most High.
~Psalms 9:2

Saying,
I will declare
Thy name
unto my brethren,
in the midst
of the church
will I sing praise
unto Thee.
~Hebrews 2:12

Is any among you afflicted?
let him pray.
Is any merry?
let him sing psalms.
~James 5:13

Speaking to yourselves
in psalms
and hymns
and spiritual songs,
singing
and making melody
in your heart
to the Lord;
~Ephesians 5:19

Let the word of Christ
dwell in you richly
in all wisdom;
teaching and
admonishing one another
in psalms and hymns
and spiritual songs,
singing with grace
in your hearts
to the Lord.
~Colossians 3:16

Walking with Jesus,

4 thoughts on “Sing!

  1. Thanks for sharing this. It is what I needed to hear. I can so relate to the struggle between wanting to love them unconditionally and feeling frustrated or even angry at them for their behaviors. Even knowing that their behaviors are a result of their past and caused by other people doesn’t erase my irritation all the time. It truly has to be me letting Christ love them through me, and being open to Him. Thanks for this reminder and encouragement!

    • My pleasure, instant mama. I know you know. Parenting hurting children can be really ugly, but turns into beautiful. I could not do anything without the Lord! God bless you and your family! ~Melissa

Leave a Reply

