Marriage Moments ~ Be Thankful

20120107-091848.jpg

To not be thankful is to be self-centered.

A thankful person is grateful, not only for the gift, but she is most thankful for the giver and The Giver.

She is grateful because she does not realize there are others who may “have it better”.
She knows many are worse off and she is blessed.

She looks at her husband and thinks of all the good in him. It is one or two prominent things or maybe a zillion wonderful small things.

{Afterall, he does of course have at least one, unless she married him completely and totally sight unseen.}

She does not focus on his shortcomings because, for goodness sake, she has a trillion of them herself. Who is she to find fault? She is a blessed woman!

…so blessed to love a man with these good qualities! And…how wonderful that they don’t have everything in common, so they can compliment and help one another.

It’s good that she sits and ponders all the awful things her hubby does not do, the awful person he isn’t…and then praises The Lord!!! ~it’s so good to explore the Psalms~

Once I read this. ~When a person loves you, your name is safe in their mouth.

It’s true.

Often women are loose-tongued. They feel justified in slandering their husband for his bad habits, his shortcomings or even his sins, under the spiritual, holy guise of being victimized and needing prayer for herself or him.

James 3:8-10
But no one can tame the tongue; it is a restless evil and full of deadly poison.
With it we bless our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the likeness of God;
from the same mouth come both blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be this way.
(nasb)

Most often these railings and complaints are the wife’s skewed, exaggerated perception. They cannot see their imperfect, human, yet, made-in-the-image-of-God, dear husband with mercy~full eyes for the garganuous railroad tie in their own. ~will you please see, Matthew 7:5; Luke 6:41~

I constantly have to heed the warnings and promptings of the Holy Spirit. I have noticed that usually whenever I am dissatisfied, unhappy or anxious, the self-centeredness and pride will come out of hiding. I let down my defenses again and have come down with poor me-ism and why me-itis! Or I am simply having trouble that is of my own making. Only on rare occasions is it not an issue of selfishness, but one that needs to simply be prayed over, handled in a biblical manner and taken care of as soon as possible.

The day I was awakened to my pattern of self-seeking in my marriage, repented and set forth to seek not my own needs, but my husband’s instead, was the day my relationship and heart for my husband changed for the better, for good. I can honestly say that he and I, though quite imperfect people, live each day to make the other smile. And it is a pleasure! ~will you please see, Philippians 2:3-5~

Proverbs 31:10-12
Who can find a virtuous woman?
for her price is far above rubies.
The heart of her husband doth safely trust in her,
so that he shall have no need of spoil.
She will do him good and not evil
all the days of her life.
(kjv)

Walking with Jesus,

A strong caution, please:
If you or someone you know, is in an abusive relationship…you or they are a victim of domestic violence and it is inexcusable! Please, get to safety and stay there until he genuinely repents and by the testimony of his new walk can be absolved of his wicked behaviour through Biblical couseling, accountability and credible witnesses to his restoration and recovery.
In this case, my friend, you need much prayer, fasting and counseling from a trusted friend who knows, loves and unapologetically follows the Word of God every day. Listen to them. Trust the LORD Who purposely placed them in your life!

One thought on “Marriage Moments ~ Be Thankful

  1. I tend to forget these things when I’m upset. This was a very nice refresher. 🙂 God always has a way to delivery a message …even by someone you don’t know. I really enjoyed reading this.

Leave a Reply

