Whoso Hath the World’s Goods

First John 3:17
But whoso hath this world’s good, and seeth his brother have need, and shutteth up his bowels of compassion from him, how dwelleth the love of God in him?

The book of First John is a powerful book! It sets straight the whole truth and the test of our faith and our relationship to God. Over and over again, John admonishes us that if we do not obey God’s commands, and love the brethren; if we do not love others, then we do not know God! Please also read 1 Jn 2:3-6 and 4:8.

Does this opening verse not convict you and I!? Please look at our opening verse again. The truth is this, if I have wordly goods, and I see a need and I do not minister to that need, meet that need I am closing up my bowels or heart of compassion and then how can GOD’S LOVE live in me!?

If God has given me have any means, any resources to help, give, serve, feed, clothe, mend, comfort, and soothe, then I must use those resources to love in deed and in truth. First John 3:18 My little children, (that’s me!), let us not love in word, neither in tongue; but in deed and in truth.

Oh to be like Jesus! As He walked this Earth He quenched the thirst of the parched, healed physical brokenness, fed the hungry, ministered to the needy around Him. He didn’t mind getting dirty, or exposing Himself to the sick. He wasn’t squeamish or shy with His love, care, and service for whoever was in need, wherever His Father sent Him. And as He met these physical needs, He was always meeting the greater need, the spiritual need!

Please, what can we do, that we are not yet doing? We can serve in a ministry at our local church; give ourselves, our time and /or our money to it.

We can sponsor a precious child in Uganda through Amazima Ministries or in other parts of our world through Compassion International.

We can support ministries such as Heartline Ministries that care for orphans and single Mothers.

We can purchase products from ministries, such as, Amazima or Heartline, with vocational programs giving women the opportunity to safely earn money so they can provide for their children.

We can purchase Bibles or tracks and pass them out everywhere we go.

We can make it our goal this Christmas to minister to others spiritually with our gift giving, prayerfully choosing gifts that will meet a genuine need and minister to their eternal souls.

We can be sensitive, and alert, ready to obey when God does show us what we can do.

We are so blessed! In one way or another, each of us is so very blessed! I do not want to be blind to those around me, or worse yet, stingy and selfish. Nothing I have is actually mine to keep. It all belongs to God! I must be a good steward properly distributing His gifts. Oh, Lord, help us! May my family and I love others in deed and in truth!

Let’s pray for one another! God bless you!

Walking with Jesus,

Leave a Reply

