My Husband, My Ministry

This weekend I attended a wonderful, God-filled conference for women in ministry. Joining up with 1,000 women of God, singing His praise, studying His Word, praying, and having fellowship was a huge blessing! It encouraged me, inspired me and challenged me to the core! In the coming days I will share much of the overflow from it with you.

I’m grateful that out of all ministries we were encouraged to first minister at home! Personally, we have to fill our tank with God and the abundance He has for us through His Word, through our prayers and through our communion with Him. I’ve learned that I cannot give away to another what I do not possess myself. Therefore, I must be in close fellowship with Him. (See the Bible Study Tips series in the archives for more on that.)

But, before I minister to others in the highways and byways, I must first minister at home to my family. And today, I want to encourage wives to minister to your husbands! Put him before any other. Prefer him above the rest. It is up to you to make him #1. He needs you to be his biggest fan! Maybe you are having trouble thinking of something to admire in him. Well, please, ask God for wisdom, James 1:5, His promise is that He gives liberally. If you are being attentive, He will show you how you can admire your guy! It is God’s design for you and for me. It is our assignment. No one else’s. Hmmm. If I don’t make it my assignment, someone else might make it theirs and woo him away. God forbid!

Besides the terrible risk of spoiling or even losing my marriage, if I don’t minister to my man, I rob him (and myself!) of great blessings from God. God has a plan for our husbands and you and I are a key part of that plan. 1 Corinthians 11:9 says, Neither was the man created for the woman; but the woman for the man. God’s plan is to use you to bless your husband, to care for him and comfort him so he can be refreshed, renewed, inspired, encouraged. It is my privilege to spur Jeff Scott toward greatness! As I love him, serve him, respect him, honor him and, yes, listen to him and obey him, he is being girded up to live life to the fullest. Often I will cheer him on and say, “Honey, I’m praying for you. Go slay dragons!” Recognize he has burdens. Recognize he has great responsibilities. He needs to see, hear and know you are on his side!

Sadly, many wives live only to manipulate, tear down, slander, discourage, ignore, isolate, deceive and dishonor their husbands. All they can think about is, “Hey, but, what about me!? I need recognition. I need encouragement. I need this. I need that.” Please, don’t be that wife! To your own detriment and destruction you live for yourself. God will take care of you…as soon as you are more concerned about your holiness than your happiness. It does not matter whether your husband is saved or not yet saved; kind or unkind; attentive or indifferent. God commands us to be kind, tenderhearted and forgiving. (Ephesians 4:32) God commands us to guard our tongues and speak with grace. (Eph 4:29-31) God commands us to walk in love,(Eph 5:1-2). Many wrongly think that these biblical principles only apply when their husband is doing good and right or only if he is respectful and kind to them, etc. But this is the time to trust and obey God even more fervently, urgently! God commands us to love even our enemies. (Proverbs 16:7; Matthew 5:44-48; 1 John chapter 3)

In closing, remember Proverbs 14:1, Every wise woman buildeth her house: but the foolish plucketh it down with her hands.

I have only given a few Scriptures to urge and encourage you today. There are many, many more I urge you to discover and study on your own. But I leave with this. God will take care of you through every day, o’er all the way!

Walking with Jesus,

Leave a Reply

