Marriage Moments ~ #1 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations

Aspiration: a strong desire to achieve something high or great

In this Monday Marriage Moment I listed my Top Ten Daily Marriage Goals. I want to encourage you with each of them one by one. For the next 10 weeks, as the Lord wills, we will look at Scripture and I will show you why these are things that I think are important daily goals for my marriage. But, I am going to call them “aspirations” from now on. Sounds much sweeter than “goals”, don’t you think? Let’s jump right into the first aspiration on my list. *The complete top ten list is at the bottom of the post.

20120220-085658.jpg

1) Make my husband smile every day. Whatever it takes. Be his dream-come-true!

I don’t have a deep theological reason for making this a daily priority. It just comes out of my heart for my husband. When you love someone you want them to be happy and seeing someone smile is a good sign that they are happy. I decided many years ago that I did not want my husband to be unhappy and that it thrills my soul to see him smile, especially when he smiles at me!

Whoso findeth a wife findeth a good thing,
and obtaineth favour of the Lord.
Proverbs 18:22

I realize that I have the power to be his delight! I also realize that I do not want to bring him any trouble, add to his burdens or his stress, but I do want to be the one that he can trust to ease his burdens. I want to be the one that God uses in my husband’s day to soothe him, comfort him and cheer him. Life can be rough. Responsibility can be overwhelming to mind, body, and the heart. How good it is for my husband to have a refuge, a safe haven, a retreat. I can provide that for him to the best of my ability. God shows me how to comfort my husband, how to minister to him, how to best help him on any given day.

There have been times I could not ease my husband’s suffering or remove all of his worry. But in those times, I have been able to pray for him, serve him, speak with softness and patiently give him space to be alone with the Lord. I can help in particularly sensitive trials by being careful not to add to his troubles.

Who can find a virtuous woman?
for her price is far above rubies.
The heart of her husband doth safely trust in her,
so that he shall have no need of spoil.
She will do him good and not evil
all the days of her life.
She openeth her mouth with wisdom;
and in her tongue is the law of kindness.
Proverbs 31:10-12, 26

I want to be my husband’s dream-come-true. I say that, but please know I know I cannot be his all-in-all and I am not some superwoman who perfectly meets his needs all of the time, but I try. I have down days like everyone else. I have my selfish moments here and there like everyone else. I have times where I don’t feel well, I am human. But the best I can, my husband knows I am his girl, his woman. He knows that I want him to be a happy, fulfilled man living a full, exciting, passionate life with his wife!

My husband makes me feel like I am his dream come true. He tells me I am his world. Even though I look nothing like the picture of fitness and there are millions of woman far more attractive than me, Jeff knows I am his, all of me. I am blessed that he cares for me, respects me and would never harm me. I know him and I trust him with all of me.

Drink waters out of thine own cistern,
and running waters out of thine own well.
Let thy fountains be dispersed abroad,
and rivers of waters in the streets.
Let them be only thine own,
and not strangers ‘with thee.
Let thy fountain be blessed:
and rejoice with the wife of thy youth.
Let her be as the loving hind and pleasant roe;
let her breasts satisfy thee at all times;
and be thou ravished always with her love.
Proverbs 5:15-19

I do realize that there is no guarantee that we won’t fail or fall, but I do believe in doing my best, giving my best and trusting in God for not just “the rest” but trusting Him through everything. My prayer is that my husband can hardly wait to come home to me, that I will be the one on his mind all day at work, after the Lord. I can be his joy or I can be a continual dripping, the thorn in his flesh. My goodness, I want to be the former! And I can be whenever I choose him over myself; whenever I choose to smile instead of rile.

A continual dropping in a very rainy day
and a contentious woman are alike.
Proverbs 27:15

Walking with Jesus,

Trust in the Lord with all thine heart;
and lean not unto thine own understanding.
In all thy ways acknowledge him,
and he shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5-6

P.S.~ You may be saying, but I was selfless and loving and my marriage is a mess or it didn’t work out. My heart truly breaks for you and for your shattered dreams. I know how I would feel if I were in your shoes. I pray I never loose my love. I can imagine how devastating that would be. I can only encourage you with what I know now and what I have lived through myself.

I know there are some (husbands) that are so miserable or up to no good that they can’t be pleased. And I know that while you can’t always please man you can please God, so trust Him with your heart, your life, your situation. He can make all things good. He can make the bitter sweet. Where the devil means to harm you, He can use all for your good.

My Top 10 Daily Marriage Aspirations:

1) Make my husband smile every day. Whatever it takes. Be his dream-come-true!

2) Smile & be happy. Always be kind and polite to him AND about him to others. (Be easy to love!)

3) Hug, kiss, and touch him every chance I get. Enjoy sharing my “personal space”.

4) Lighten up. Do not be easily offended. Give him a break.

5) Be quiet. Rarely will there ever be any issue that is worth ruining our day over.

6) Pray about an issue before bringing it to him. Bring it up only if/when I’m sure God says so.

7) Faithfully pray for him throughout each day and let him know it.

8) Serve him sweetly. It’s not about my happiness, it’s about my holiness.

9) Keep our love nest (bedroom) sanctified, special.

10)There is always something to be thankful for. I want him to know I am grateful for him, for our marriage and for all of our blessings.

9 thoughts on “Marriage Moments ~ #1 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations

  1. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #4 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations | Bones in My Heart

  2. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #10 ~ My Top 10 Daily Marriage Aspirations | Bones in My Heart

  3. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #9 ~ My Top 10 Daily Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  4. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #8 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Daily Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  5. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ # 7 ~ My Top 10 Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  6. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #5 & #6 ~ My Top 10 Daily Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  7. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #3 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  8. Pingback: Marriage Moments ~ #2 ~ My Top 10 Marriage Aspirations « Bones in My Heart

  9. Pingback: RANT: The Easily Offended Should Avoid « West End Singleton

Leave a Reply

