Bible Study Tips ~ Day Two ~ Bible Study Notebook

Good Morning and Welcome back!

Yesterday we talked about establishing a habit of a daily Quiet Time, Devotions, or Bible Study time. Remember, I am sharing tips that work for me. You may take something you’ve seen here, and discover something that works wonderful for you or personalize it to better suit you. God will bless your efforts as you set out to begin the habit of dedicated time with Him or seek to enrich your current Quiet Times.

A few years back I started a Bible Study Notebook. Its just a three-ring binger with some tabbed dividers with pockets. This has been a great thing for me, because I can keep everything in one portable place: Quiet Time notes, Bible Study worksheets, Sunday School lessons, Memory Trigger sheets, lined index cards for writing out Scripture, articles or printed out Bible studies that I want to read/study again or save for later, and notecards and stamps handy for sending out encouragement. It’s wonderful to have all of this in one binder! I keep it by my bed with my Bible, easy to reach for each morning. I take it to church to teach from for Sunday School and I use it to review or work on the passage I’m memorizing.
20111026-072452.jpg20111026-072535.jpg

20111026-072656.jpg

20111026-072708.jpg

20111026-072749.jpg

20111026-072801.jpg

20111026-072833.jpg

Let me explain more about a Memory Trigger Sheet…
When I began using this method of memorizing passages several years ago it dramatically increased my success at memorizing entire chapters and long passages of the Bible. It was very exciting to find something that actually worked for me!!! :) I hope it will work as wonderfully for you, too! It is so simple! I take a sheet of notebook paper and as you can see in the photo, I title the top of the page, for example: “James 1 Memory Trigger Sheet”. Next, I number down the left side of the paper along the margin. James chapter one has 27 verses, so I numbered my paper 1 to 27. Then next to each verse number, I write down the first one to three (or four, maximum) words in the verse. As I review the verses, moving through the chapter, these words help trigger my memory of the entire verse. Eventually I don’t need the triggers any longer as I have the passage memorized entirely.

Currently, my goal is to learn all of the book of James. I’ve memorized chapter one using this method and now I’m moving on to chapter two. Every day when I work on the current chapter I must also recite the previous chapter(s) to keep it fresh in my mind. I’m so excited to one day have the entire book hidden in my heart! I do not set time limits for myself because I find it very discouraging and that it takes the enjoyment and fun out of something that is a treasure! When an explorer sets out on a mission to find hidden treasure, he/she is willing to take as much time as necessary to find the valuable treasure they seek. I see God’s Word as extremely valuable hidden treasure! What IT does in our hearts, in our minds and in our lives is just amazing!

Proverbs 2:4-6 If thou seekest her as silver, and searchest for her as for hid treasures; Then shalt thou understand the fear of the Lord, and find the knowledge of God. For the Lord giveth wisdom: out of His mouth cometh knowledge and understanding.

Psalm 19:7-11
Have a fabulous day!
Walking with Jesus all the way,

Related Articles:
Bible Study Tips ~ Day 1 ~ Habits
Bible Study Tips ~ Day 3 ~ My Bible, My Workbook
Bible Study Tips ~ Day 4 ~ Pray
Bible Study Tips ~ Day 5 ~ S.O.A.P. & Psalms

12 thoughts on “Bible Study Tips ~ Day Two ~ Bible Study Notebook

  1. Pingback: Bible Study Tips series ~ Day Five ~ S.O.A.P. & Psalms « Bones in My Heart

  2. Pingback: Bible Study Tips ~ Day Four ~ Pray « Bones in My Heart

  3. Pingback: Bible Study Tips ~ Day Three ~ My Bible, My Workbook « Bones in My Heart

  4. Pingback: Bible Study Tips ~ Day One ~ Habits « Bones in My Heart

  5. Pingback: Women in the Word ~ Ephesians Week 3 « Bones in My Heart

  6. Pingback: Study Ephesians With Me! « Bones in My Heart

Leave a Reply

